An Allergy Experiment

Everyone in my family suffers from seasonal allergies, especially my husband. His nose becomes congested, his head aches; his eyes turn puffy, red and watery. This past week he has been especially uncomfortable following a surfing trip out past Neah Bay on the Washington Coast. Incredibly beautiful,  however the experience left him miserable.

IMG_0109I felt terrible for him, but thought it would be a perfect opportunity to test out an allergy remedy. So I challenged him to try a teaspoon a day of a delicious, all natural allergy/cough syrup:

What You Need:

  1. 1 half pint mason jar
  2. 1/4 cup extra virgen olive oil
  3. 3/4 cup honey (LOCAL)
  4. Juice of 3 lemons
  5. Cinnamon stick
  6. Vanilla (half a bean with the seeds scooped out is best)

What To Do:

  1. Heat ingredients 3-6 on stove top until steaming.
  2. Pour into mason jar.
  3. Whisk in honey until well mixed.

I tried this myself a few weeks ago with good results. First of all, it’s delicious (especially with the addition of the cinnamon and vanilla). Second of all, it was incredibly soothing to my throat and body. I wouldn’t say it was an effective cure, but it absolutely soothed my symptoms and made life a lot better.

UPDATE (NOVEMBER 16)

My husband loves the stuff! He has faithfully taken 1 teaspoon everyday for a week and has noticed a significant reduction in his symptoms.

Leave a Reply

