Gray Hair: Acceptance and More Energy?

I am a bit ashamed to admit that I am self conscious of the increasing number of gray hairs that appear daily on my head. It was my hope that I would just go gray gracefully, but I am not ready! I am only 31! Graying is genetically determined, for the most part, but there is also an element of the graying process controlled by how well you take care of yourself; at least that’s what I want to believe. I recently read Natural Remedies for Reversing Gray Hair: Nutrition and Herbs for Anti-Aging and Optimum Health by Thomas Xander. I thought, why not? It is a short book and I took away a few ideas that I hope to share. The first was a drink containing many of the Terrific Ten, but also black strap molasses (on the secondary list). For anyone who hasn’t had black strap molasses before, it’s pretty intense and runs about 60 calories per tablespoon. It is also chock full of great vitamins and minerals that your hair needs to stay healthy including iron and vitamin B12.

IMG_0183

According to Xander’s book, people have experienced success from just taking 2-3 TABLESPOONS of the stuff per day. Not gonna happen. Below is the recipe for the drink. Read on for my reaction to the drink and what I am trying out instead as a compromise.

What You Need:

  1. 2-3 T. unsulphured black strap molasses
  2. 2-3 T. raw, unpasteurized  apple cider vinegar (The “Mother”)
  3. 2 T. lemon juice
  4. 1 T. raw, local honey
  5. 1/8 tsp. fresh, ground black pepper
  6. 1/4 cup hot water

What To Do:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a mug, except the hot water.
  2. Pour hot water over the mug.
  3. Stir the ingredients until well mixed.
  4. ENJOY

IMG_0182

Here is where I confess that I gagged and struggled to get the stuff down (but I did!). My husband found me jumping around in the kitchen, swearing at the mug. It was an experience, but not one I am willing to continue.

INSTEAD I have been taking 1 tsp of black strap molasses by itself, everyday for about a week. As tough as it is to swallow, I can really see an increase in my energy; it’s worth it for the B vitamins and extra iron it provides. I am hoping it slows down the graying, but I also like the energy it gives me.

Leave a Reply

