Honey Moisturizer

FullSizeRender (7)
We like honey…a lot.

Honey is very popular in our house. My kids prefer honey to jelly with their peanut butter toast, my husband enjoys finding local honey to help with his allergies and I love honey in my tea. Since moving to Washington state in 2013 we have been using Wakera Farms honey (pictured above) for our local honey source, but I recently heard a rumor they were going out of business due to the dying bee population. I am saddened to hear this. We keep on hand three types of honey: a raw creamed honey for healing and moisturizing, a local honey for help with allergies and a third generic store honey for sweetening. This post is primarily about honey as a moisturizer.

A few weeks ago a friend told me she applies a thin layer honey masque to her face once a week and has great results. I was skeptical that it would work for me since I have sensitive skin and dreaded the sticky feeling I assumed honey would leave behind. I am happy to report the honey moisturizing masque works quite well for me and the residue is easily removed. I use creamed honey because it has a thicker consistency, spreads well and wipes off easily. I also use creamed honey to soothe and heal chapped lips.

Honey Moisturizing Masque

What You Need

  1. Raw honey
  2. A clean wash cloth

What To Do

  1. Apply 1-2 teaspoons of honey to your face, gently massaging it into your skin with your finger tips.
  2. Let it sit 10-15 minutes.
  3. Wipe off with a warm wash cloth. I like to follow the warm wash cloth with a splash of cold water to shrink my pores.

 

 

Leave a Reply

