Hair Conditioning: Two Ideas

I have been trying out two different ways of conditioning my hair. The first involves an apple cider vinegar rinse. The second involves a coconut oil hair mask. Thanks to the aforementioned conditioning methods I have eliminated store bought conditioners from our house. Personally, I much prefer the apple cider vinegar rinse, but I do think the coconut oil hair mask is a great addition to one’s hair care routine. Just figure out what works for you.

Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

What You Need

  1. 1 Cup Water
  2. 1-2 Tablesppons Apple Cider Vinegar (figure out what works for you)
  3. 1 Used Shampoo Bottle

What To Do

  1. Mark off one cup on your bottle.
  2. Fill bottle with shower water to the one cup mark.
  3. Add 1-2 Tablespoons ACV to the water and shake.
  4. Squirt the mixture into your hair folllowing your normal shampoo routine.
  5. Rinse your hair.

Note: Be careful to avoid your eyes. I find it is helpful to hang my head upside down while applying the rinse. I really, really love the results!

Coconut Oil Hair Mask

What You Need

  1. 1 teaspoon-1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil
  2. Comb

What To Do

Following your shampoo routine, while your hair is still wet, apply the desired amount of coconut oil to your hair. The amount you use is dependent upon the length of your hair and whether you are prone to having dry or oily hair. I find the coconut oil really adds to the sheen and health of my hair, but does not give me the full body the ACV rinse provides.

  1. Rub the coconut oil between both hands.
  2. Work into your wet hair beginning at the ends. I tend to avoid the roots because I have oily hair.
  3. Leave the coconut oil mask in your hair for 15 minutes.
  4. Rinse the coconut oil out and allow hair to air dry.
IMG_0893
Materials for your ACV hair rinse!
Leave a Reply

